Author Topic: HFS stops responding  (Read 12590 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Insane programmer
  • *
  • Posts: 12505
  • Country: it
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stops responding
« Reply #15 on: September 01, 2011, 06:57:07 AM »
mmmmm, if double F4 is enough for you, we may workaround this easily.
it needs a scripting command to stop the server, so that you a script like

[every 10 minutes]
{.server stop.}
{.server start.}


i put this is in in the to-do list

Offline finite

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stops responding
« Reply #16 on: September 04, 2011, 07:37:30 PM »
Will this kill any transfers under way? Or is this safe to do?

FYI - I am not experiencing this problem under version 2.2f.

Offline FTNCmedia

  • Regular poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stops responding
« Reply #17 on: September 11, 2011, 05:46:16 AM »
Hello, first of all, I would like to say thank you very much for this build. I started off on 2.2f and it worked great but the templates available were kinda drab. So I found 2.3 build 279. Great templates (RAWR) and I was able to modify the template with some JPGs just to customize it for what I need. Anyway, I am in Afghanistan and running media server for the troops. I have ~8TB of media. There are approximately 500 users on the LAN but only 100 have logged into my server. I have been up for about 3 weeks now and I have already had 3387 downloads and 300,000 hits. Let's just say its busy. Now the problem, I will try and be as specific as possible instead of saying "It doesn't work".  I have a pretty good system too. Dell Precision 690 with ; Dual Quad-core Intel Xeon 5300 series processors with 1333MHz front side bus and 2 x 4MB shared cache, 20GB RAM, Nvida Quatro FX 4600 graphics card running Windows 7 Ultimate.

At least once a day, my system stops responding totally. Meaning, that my mouse doesnt respond, keyboard, CTRL ALT DELETE, ESC, nothing. The time is even froze on the screen. I have to remove power from the tower in order to get the computer to restart. On the HFS I have had to do some tweeking to keep this from happening too much. I have the LAN speed throttled down to 7000KB/s (~56Mbps) even though I am on a 100Mbps LAN. There is internet traffic going across and I just want to make sure that users downloading from my server will not affect the internet users. HFS never gets through the gateway to the internet and that is what I actually want. Just to host on the LAN. So the scenario goes like this: Ok...I get multiple connections say...4. Each are downloading a file ~1gb. Every thing is great. Now along comes a couple more users say 6-7 in all and then after a short time, my PC will freeze like mentioned above. I also run on a separate laptop a continuous ping to the gateway "router" ( I did the " " because their router really is a Dell Linux box running some software to do DHCP/Routing/and Billing. Totally insufficient to handle 500+ users.. but I digress...) I run the ping to kinda get a feel for what the network is doing. When the server freezes, the network pings stop and everyone on the LAN is down because of some unknown traffic issue coming from my server. I restart the PC and then run HFS again until the next time it does it under load. I was just wondering if there is a tweak I can do to handle multiple users or if there is a specific limit (or recommended) of users? Oh..I did limit the max simultaneous downloads to 10, Max simultaneous downloads from a single address to 2, and Max simultaneous addresses downloading to 10. Just trying to keep one user from hogging everything up.    

Since I have throttled it down to 7000KBps, limited the users and their downloads, the server seems to like it a lot better. It did freeze again today for no apparent reason. There was only one user on downloading one 1GB file. Any ideas, suggestions?

Thank you again and I know I am using the hell out of this but I just wanted you to know that all the soldiers here are LOVING that I have done this for them and actually you all should get the credit. The search function and Shout Box really set this apart and I love it.

Oh..if you guys have a suggestion for a version that is super stable with numerous connections/downloads and cool templates, please let me know. I have no problem moving to a more stable platform even though I love this one


{Edit one}

Reloaded Windows 7 and didn't install all the crazy programs like I had on there before. Now my computer does not freeze. I do however have a memory leak described in "out of memory" thread.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2011, 11:21:08 AM by FTNCmedia »

Offline raybob

  • Insane poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 442
    • View Profile
    • FileSplat.com
Re: HFS stops responding
« Reply #18 on: September 11, 2011, 07:59:38 AM »
Is your PC overclocked?  This type of thing used to happen to me when I was trying to push my processor too hard.  Even if you're not overclocked try running MemTest and Prime95

Offline FTNCmedia

  • Regular poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stops responding
« Reply #19 on: September 12, 2011, 11:50:03 AM »
Nope. Not overclocked. I just went back to 2.2f but now the download speeds by the users are really slow on the 100mbps LAN. They are getting ~700kbps. Computer seems stable now and the LAN condition is good. thx for reply

Offline raybob

  • Insane poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 442
    • View Profile
    • FileSplat.com
Re: HFS stops responding
« Reply #20 on: September 12, 2011, 12:42:08 PM »
Even if you're not overclocked, run the two programs because your problem could still be hardware.  It might not be HFS but rather the load itself that crashes your computer.  Unlikely, but possible.
« Last Edit: September 12, 2011, 01:54:13 PM by raybob95 »

Offline FTNCmedia

  • Regular poster
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stops responding
« Reply #21 on: September 12, 2011, 01:02:36 PM »
thx Raybob...I am going to try a clean install of Windows too. Before I found HFS, I tried quite a few other "servers" that didnt even compare to HFS. I keep finding residual files from those programs still hangin around even after an unistall. No telling how they are affecting HFS.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Insane programmer
  • *
  • Posts: 12505
  • Country: it
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stops responding
« Reply #22 on: September 17, 2011, 10:57:56 AM »
Will this kill any transfers under way? Or is this safe to do?

no transfer would be harmed.
just for a millisecond no new connections would be allowed.

FYI - I am not experiencing this problem under version 2.2f.

this is interesting.
2.2f is build number 155, while we are at 279 now.
would you get the chance of testing builds number 260, 240, 220, 200 and so on until you find a narrower range in which we know the problem was introduced, i may find what is it exactly.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Insane programmer
  • *
  • Posts: 12505
  • Country: it
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stops responding
« Reply #23 on: September 17, 2011, 11:14:14 AM »
Oh..if you guys have a suggestion for a version that is super stable with numerous connections/downloads and cool templates, please let me know. I have no problem moving to a more stable platform even though I love this one

hi and welcome,
first i want to say that there is a 2.2g that solves the speed problem
http://www.rejetto.com/forum/index.php/topic,6662.msg1042023.html#msg1042023

more, i doubt HFS can do so much harm on a quad-core. HFS is single core.
In case you find it's definitely its fault, you may go with the steps i described in the post here above to find when the bug was introduced.

keep us informed

Offline capriconian_hunk

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stops responding
« Reply #24 on: June 28, 2012, 02:08:30 AM »
[every 10 minutes]
{.server stop.}
{.server start.}

how and where to write this script so it starts working....

pls help

thanks

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Insane programmer
  • *
  • Posts: 12505
  • Country: it
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stops responding
« Reply #25 on: June 29, 2012, 04:52:40 AM »
i was not clear enough: those commands don't exist yet.

I'm right now working to reestablish a working enviroment for HFS 2.3
since HFS 3 won't see the light before the end of the year.

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Insane programmer
  • *
  • Posts: 12505
  • Country: it
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stops responding
« Reply #26 on: June 29, 2012, 09:53:58 AM »
ok, done
soon i'll publish a new build with this and other improvements

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Insane programmer
  • *
  • Posts: 12505
  • Country: it
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stops responding
« Reply #27 on: June 29, 2012, 06:29:15 PM »
ok, i published the new version (280) and with that you can use the script i told you.
you have to put it in
Menu > other options > edit event scripts

Offline capriconian_hunk

  • Occasional poster
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stops responding
« Reply #28 on: June 30, 2012, 12:31:25 AM »
thanks mate.. thank you so much for you assistance..

i`ll be dispiritedly waiting for that to come... :)

right now i`m shifting all my data or can say heavy data to torrent medium so hfs will not stop during those transfers...

and i scheduled hfs via windows scheduler to quit hfs after every 30 min and another task which opens it within 31 min.. but my hfs gets stuck between that interval and user have to wait for that schedule to run again :((

anyway.. thanks so much and keep up the gud work.. i really appreciate that ..

 

Offline rejetto

  • Administrator
  • Insane programmer
  • *
  • Posts: 12505
  • Country: it
    • View Profile
Re: HFS stops responding
« Reply #29 on: June 30, 2012, 05:10:50 AM »
why you say "to come" ? i already published it.
here's the link for your convenience
http://www.rejetto.com/forum/index.php/topic,10549.0.html